Fire Emblem Blog

Ashnard’s Ambitions

Posted on: May 21, 2007

Well I know I said I wanted to wait to make an article until more people were here in hopes of letting more people read it but it turns out I don’t have that kind of patience 😛 . For the time being I’m not so sure how to get more people to come to this site so waiting for more viewers would obviously take a very long time.heck! if I wait that long I might actually lose members…and I only have two 😯 !!! so instead of that I’m just going to go ahead and make an article.

One of the things that always drove me nuts about path of radiance was the final battle,here you have this giant armoured king,on a giant armoured dragon,with a deadly looking sword……………and we end up fighting him  in Cremias beautiful gardens -_-‘ . is he going to attack us with butterfly’s,too? I have to admit…it was much different from what I had pictured.

And why wouldn’t it be? lets start from the beginning.we first hear about King Ashnard very early on,naturally hes just an opposing king with-what its made out to be-intentions of conquering the continent.yeah,a big goal,but its not like we haven’t seen it before…I seem to remember a certain FE villain who wanted to conquer the world *coughnergalcoughcough* .

A good amount of time later we meet the enigmatic black knight.we also see him interrogate and-with little opposition-kill ikes father greil (that’s what he gets for being a prepromote 🙄 ).it turns out the black knight is after “it” .ahhhh “it” ,whatever could it be (it couldn’t be that hunk of metal mist is so interested in….the same hunk of metal that gets its own cut-scene? nah 😉 ).well whatever “it” is he cant get it so he warps away.shortly after that its revealed the King Ashnard wants the medallion…and Ashnard becomes alot more mysterious.

Some how or another we end up bumping into everybodys favorite magical heron (except mine…I like Leanne 😉 ) ,reyson.except he hates humans! why? well,its some little squabble he has with the humans…some of them came and burnt down his forest and clan or something equally as small 😉 . 

in time we learn that it wasn’t just for fun that the humans burned down the forest.it turns out that “the apostle” of that time was said to have been assassinated by ALIENS!!! herons,and the people-seeking revenge-did away with them.ofcoarse it couldn’t be the herons who did it cause they break easier than glass,naturally they couldn’t fight.it must have been someone else.

eventually we end up going to daien and are told that Ashnard was never close to becoming king.he was of a distant bloodline and one of the last people to be chosen as king from his family.Ashnard,however,destroyed all the would be kings until he was the last choice.interesting,you have to give him credit for planing  😛

then volke tells us that the medallion,called “lehrans medallion” can cause people to go berserk.he tells us that there are two forces inside of people: balance and chaos ,and that the medallion “takes the worst aspects of a person and magnifies them a thousandfold”.oh,he also tells us that there’s a dark god trapped inside the medallion that destroyed every continent on the planet except for Tellius,but no pressure.

soon it becomes ashnards turn to explain how the medallion works;it reacts to the chaos within everything.then he says that its greatly responding to the war he created.so that would explain all the useless war he created,eh?

now back to this whole heron thing,it turns out that Daien was behind that,too.during all the fighting a “large human” captured reysons older sister,Lillia.he later forced her to release the “thing” inside the medallion,but she didn’t have the power to do so and ended up dying.by now its well known that the “thing” was the dark god.its also pretty clear that the”large human” was Ashnard.

so now its almost the end of the game,and Ashnard ends up getting the medallion and Leanne in his possession.in addition,he also wants to revive the dark god.so what exactly would he do with it? well this is just my guess,but he would probably try to control it and take over the world.now hes thinking like a FE bad guy 🙂 .he says that “the conditions for the ritual are right,but how long willthey last?”, and tucks it away .Im not sure what the conditions were,but I would assume it had something to do with the conflict on the continent.Leanne soon escapes and all Ashnard has left is the medallion.

at this point you must be expecting a typical FE last board where you kill the boss and a new,more powerful boss takes its place.and the dark god would work perfectly in this case,right? no such luck…

eventually the last battle happens and Ike beats Ashnard (unless you cheat and use one of the three laguz leaders…in which case they beat him 😛 ) .now if your on hard mode Ashnard touches the medallion and gets much stronger (and…kills naiser if your not careful 😥 ) .don’t get me wrong,that was shocking since I wasn’t expecting anything different to happen,but it still wasn’t the ending you would expect.all these plans of his…the heron plot,the war,recovering the medallion,even his becoming king plan, all he does is touche the medallion? i thought for sure he would have ended up going into the castle (out of the garden -_- )  and releasing the dark god somehow or another.

so to break down Ashnards plot for world domination;he killed all the people in his bloodline until he was closest to the throne,framed the herons and captured Lillia,caused a war to cause chaos,recovered the medallion,and his last step would have been reviving the dark god.

and there you go,my first real article! make sure to include some feedback in your posts to tell me if I did good on it or not 😛 .

by Saint Of Swords

26 Responses to "Ashnard’s Ambitions"

wow… thats better then i could ever do 🙂 i forgot about all those things…maybe i should get going with my 4th play through eh? :p

I didnt realize just how big this article was 😯 .no wonder my brains spent!

Hey, buddy, get in line, Leanne’s mine. Screw the language barrier.

No, really though, reyson was annoying. I liked Ninian better than any other “Go Again” characters.

Great article, I’ve started playing it hard mode (actaully, I started a while ago, but still haven’t finished)and I’ve noticed it has a bit more story to it. That means I’m gonna have to play Godess of Dawn on Hard mode too, they’ll probably do the same thing. Of course, that’s providing it actually ever gets a release date.

I wonder why FE villains always think they can control these powerful Demons and such, when said monsters annihilate entire PLANETS! (can you say Dragon BAll Z?) Except for one godess protected continent. Netgal, however, was by far the coolest of the American Three, Ashnard was kinda generic, and I don’t even remember who the Sacred Stones villain was, I think that game would have been better if they didn’t have mosters.

Responding to article and comments in no particular order…spoilers, but that should be obvious. If you don’t want spoilers, why did you read this article in the first place?

I would guess — although I can’t be sure — that the dark-god-thing wasn’t released by Ashnard in this game so that they could have him/her/it/whatever be the final boss of the NEXT game (Goddess of Dawn). After all, if they had made the dark god the final boss of PoR, what would have been left to fight in the sequel game? There’s only two deity-thingies in this world that we’ve heard of: the dark-god-thing and Ashera, the one who protected Tellius from being flooded. I would guess that introducing a new enemy after the dark one had already been defeated — or suddenly revealing that Ashera was evil or something — would seem too corny. Also, as you pointed out, the name of the next game is Goddess of Dawn … maybe you have to fight the dark-god-thing, but get Ashera on your side?

Shinigami Ninja: Hate to tell you, but I think Naesala beat you to Leanne. Once you decipher the language she speaks it’s still kinda hard to figure whether they’re joking with each other or serious … or whether one is serious and the other joking … but either way I suggest you look out for crows trying to peck at your eyes 😉

Re Ashnard: I actually thought he was not a particularly typical villain. It’s true that this is the only Fire Emblem game I’ve ever played, so I don’t know how he compares to the others — but my impression was that he expected to die when the god-thingy was released. I get this from talking to him with the different characters from my company. (I didn’t find out there were copies of all conversations between various characters and Ashnard online until AFTER I had already watched them all die and cried about it. ;( I thought Tauroneo had the best line, though. ^_^ )

His whole philosophy seems to be less “I should rule the world” and more “the strongest one should rule the world.” When Ike, for example, talks to him (or if you have one of the laguz speak to him) it seems as if he revels in the battle and is excited at the prospect that someone might actually manage to beat him for the first time. Remember those gladiator games he holds? He’s almost as obsessed with seeing powerful people fight as Tanas is with seeing beautiful artwork. (I thought Tanas was scarier, though. *shudder*)

Now, it may be that this is actually normal for villains these days and I’ve simply missed out on that by spending my time reading and playing decade-old-or-older games. But at least for me, Ashnard’s personality was a pleasant surprise … er, so far as anything so unpleasant can be pleasing…

🙂

Shinigami Ninja said: No, really though, reyson was annoying. I liked Ninian better than any other “Go Again” characters.

true, but thats what made me really like him 😉

Shinigami Ninja said:and I don’t even remember who the Sacred Stones villain was

Lyon 😥

Light Walker said: I actually thought he was not a particularly typical villain. It’s true that this is the only Fire Emblem game I’ve ever played, so I don’t know how he compares to the others

since you havent played the other games this might be a small spoiler… but the thing that makes Ashnard different from the other FE villans is that most of the others have a sad back story, i dont think he had a sad back story, he was just crazy, and that does make him unique from the others 🙂

Light Walker said:I get this from talking to him with the different characters from my company. (I didn’t find out there were copies of all conversations between various characters and Ashnard online until AFTER I had already watched them all die and cried about it. ;( I thought Tauroneo had the best line, though. ^_^ )

i didnt know that, i’ll be looking for that text on Gamespot

You can find it on gamefaqs.com easier.

Yeah, Ashnard was just plain crazy. Lyon wanted to resurrect his father and Nurgle, well, wasn’t Nurgle crazy too?

Shinigami Ninja:
I wonder why FE villains always think they can control these powerful Demons and such, when said monsters annihilate entire PLANETS! (can you say Dragon BAll Z?) Except for one godess protected continent.

thick-headedness 😛 ? seriously though I think they just have too much confidence in there own powers.

Light Walker:
Responding to article and comments in no particular order…spoilers, but that should be obvious. If you don’t want spoilers, why did you read this article in the first place?

I didnt spoil you, did I 😕 ? if so I apologize…suffice to say if the article is marked under a game you didnt win you have a good chance of being spoiled since almost every plot point in fire emblem is wrapped around and through the entire game.

Light Walker:
I would guess — although I can’t be sure — that the dark-god-thing wasn’t released by Ashnard in this game so that they could have him/her/it/whatever be the final boss of the NEXT game (Goddess of Dawn).

thats exactly what I was thinking.its unfortunate that such a powerful enemy has to stay locked up as a plot device,eh 😛 ?

Light Walker:
Re Ashnard: I actually thought he was not a particularly typical villain. It’s true that this is the only Fire Emblem game I’ve ever played, so I don’t know how he compares to the others — but my impression was that he expected to die when the god-thingy was released. I get this from talking to him with the different characters from my company.

ill have to look into that…where can I find all the conversations online?

Light Walker:
He’s almost as obsessed with seeing powerful people fight as Tanas is with seeing beautiful artwork. (I thought Tanas was scarier, though. *shudder*)

yeah,tanas was one weird character…im just glad he was an enemy so you can get rid of him eventually 😈 .

btw thank you all for the feed back 🙂 .

Saint, Matthew, You should be able to find them at gamefaqs.com, I haven’t checked, but they have most everything there.

Wow! Sweet blog man. It’s grovey

to bad I don’t own PoR

We’ll probably find out that the Godess has her own Medallion and we need to get said medallion in order to defeat the dark god of Lehran’s medallion. Which means an arbitrary “Cave of Trials” to see if we are worthy to have said sacred object. As if all of the people we’ve helped, bandits we killed, battles we won and all the hardships we fought through to get there weren’t enough to prove our worthiness. Besides, if the only “Trial” is killing a dozen or so mid level enemies, two high level promoted enemies, and a Boss, then what’s to stop the evil army from going in, taking it and destroying it? Heh, some Trial.

No fear! I beat PoR quite a while ago, long before I ventured onto any of the internet sites that might have spoilers about it. As to the conversations/translations, I got them from http://myweb.tiscali.co.uk/elaice/ Beware though — this site does have a large Goddess of Dawn spoilerific section. I’ve found it easy to avoid though, because the site is well organized and everything is clearly marked. The exact explanation of the ancient language of the herons is here: http://myweb.tiscali.co.uk/elaice/fe9/galldr.html
The quotes of what people say when they die are here: http://myweb.tiscali.co.uk/elaice/fe9/death.html
And the Ashnard conversations are here:
http://myweb.tiscali.co.uk/elaice/fe9/boss_convo3.html
This last one is page three of a compilation of all boss conversations, not just Ashnard’s, so you’ll have to scroll down to the area labeled “Final Chapter.

Hope that gives you what you want. 🙂

As for the Ashnard/insanity thing… I’m actually not sure he’s insane. At least, he doesn’t have psychosis. He isn’t out-of-touch with reality or delusional. It’s more like…I don’t know. As if it’s his perspective that’s warped, not his logical capabilities or reasoning. It seems to me that he is working off of a valid, reasonable, logical, view of the world which makes a great deal of sense — if you don’t have a conscience or any concept of morality. That’s not insanity. Insanity would probably be preferable to living inside a mind like that…

Maybe I’m reading too much into this, but here’s my theory: Ashnard became strong and skilled at a young age, outstripping everyone around him. He was part of Daein’s royalty, but had no chance of obtaining the throne. He fought in battles, and never encountered any ally or enemy who could match him. Looking at his family and king he became increasingly disgusted with their weaknesses and foibles. He also looked around and saw the injustice of Daein’s feudal society, how some of the brightest people never had much of a chance to succeed in life because of how they were born. All of this led to discontent and possibly anger. Eventually Ashnard created, in his mind, a solution for all this: an ideal world that mimicked nature, the “law of the jungle.” It’s basically taking what we call the Theory of Evolution and applying it to human society — Wikipedia says that critics of the idea usually term it “Social Darwinism.” So, survival of the fittest would govern who could get high-paying jobs, authority, etc.

Perhaps Ashnard was influenced by laguz society; we learn during the game that the laguz kings are whoever is the strongest. He seems to have taken the same concept a lot farther than they did, though. Too far.
The laguz don’t like weakness, but they don’t seem to hate it either. Evidence: Ena is much weaker than most of the other dragon laguz, yet she wasn’t killed at birth or anything, which is essentially what Ashnard’s philosophy would promote. Of course, we don’t know how different Goldoa is from the other laguz kingdoms, so perhaps I’m overgeneralizing…

PoR seems like a game where a lot of thought went into each of the characters. Of course, I may be creating content that isn’t there. I have a definite motive for wanting there to be deep, meaningful characters and themes in this game: that’s why I play games, and that’s what makes me enjoy them. One of the reasons I got PoR was because I love the basic philosophical theme the series is famous for: actions have consequences. If you mess up and your characters die, they’re gone. And they don’t just vanish painlessly either — at least for me, each one who falls hurts. Hearing their last words…

To sum up: I don’t think Ashnard’s insane, just evil. His ideal world is actually very similar, so far as I know, to Adolf Hitler’s. He correctly points out some of Beorc society’s more serious problems, though, and laguz society isn’t perfect either (if you’ve ever read the Stefan/Mordecai and Soren/Ike conversation sets all the way to A-Rank, you can probably think of some good examples of injustice in Tellius..). For the nonce, ’nuff said.

Lightwalker said:
No fear! I beat PoR quite a while ago, long before I ventured onto any of the internet sites that might have spoilers about it.

oh good,see I had been debating with myself with whether or not I should mark the articles for spoilers.I eventually came to the conclusion though that-if I did mark for spoilers-every article written here would be marked accordingly and there would never be a none spoiler 😀 .also thanks for the links…ill check those out later.

Those link pwn hard Light, how did they figure out the Heron Translations?

Oh yeah, I forgot to add this. In PoR, there are a lot of people with German fr names. Not German names, German words. Volke is German for People and has a pronunciation close to folk. Haar means hair and is pronounced like the har in hard. An this is the best, Mist is like another word for poop. I kid you not. In my German-English dictionary it says Mist means dung or rubbish.

wow,I just got done looking at the sites…the heron translation gives leanne a whole new personality.she acts even cuter than I had pictured 😀 .

Shinigami Ninja said:
Those link pwn hard Light, how did they figure out the Heron Translations?

its all in anceint roman I guess.

I doubt it. They said Roman script, meaning English letters. Most Romance languages use the same alphabet, or something close to it, as do most languages that were influenced by Rome, mainly because they introduced writing to a lot of people.

well…maybe I misread it :\ .

it seems Ashnard did intend on seeing himself-and the world-destroyed when he unsealed the medallion.I just wish I had read some of those conversations before I wrote my article ;_; .

Research before writing is always good. But it was an interesting article anyway, and prompted some fun discussion. So don’t feel too bad 🙂

Ashnard was, now that I think about it, really a lot like a teenage boy, but trapped in an adults body. He wants action and explosion and stuff, so he becomes a war-monger, and he wants it to be bigger and better all the time, and the way to get the coolest violence is do uleash a demon-god of death and destrucion on the world, all so he can watch it burn!!
So, he’s not crazy, he’s just immature.

Light Walker said:
Research before writing is always good.

actually all the information thats in the article I found online 😛 ! its been about a year or so since I last read every bit of text in PoR,so my memory of what all happened was rather blury.I just didnt think of checking if ashnard talked to different people,let alone consider if there would be information pertaining to my article in them.I guess my articles not too off,ashnard just wanted to restart the world instead of ruling it 😀 .

Shinigami Ninja said:
So, he’s not crazy, he’s just immature.

that could be 🙂 ,in fact I find 90% of his laughs very immature…I mean come on…”Heeee hee hee hee“? he sounds like an exited little girl!

‘He wants action and explosion and stuff, so he becomes a war-monger, and he wants it to be bigger and better all the time, and the way to get the coolest violence is do uleash a demon-god of death and destrucion on the world, all so he can watch it burn!! So, he’s not crazy, he’s just immature.’

LOL (really, I actually did laugh out loud)

I know how the memory thing is… B( I actually found that site with the translations ’cause I couldn’t remember some of the dialog. 0_-

im playing PoR on hard mode now, i find it holds my attention much more than normal mode 🙂

Funny, I almost fell asleep the other day during the enemies turn. Hahah. I was pretty tired though. I don’t remember why.

Shinigami Ninja said:
Funny, I almost fell asleep the other day during the enemies turn.

which board are you on? it seems to me that the boards in hard mode are only really hard in the begining turns.I dont know if the designers of the game feel bad for the players or something and they have to make it easier past a certain point in the levels 😛 .

It was like, 26 or something. The one when you get to the castle in Cremia where all the knights are still holding out.

oh,that one.I hate that mission…probably cause my brother always makes me save the stupid valktie 😀 ! I end up rushing in and I almost get killed 😄 .

Comments are closed.

